The Allure of Seattle for an Aussie Kid


Growing up in Australia there was always one city that stuck in my mind that I would like to visit someday, that city was Seattle. Originally it wasn’t high on my priority list as there were so many amazing places to visit, but it was always in the back of my mind. I first visited the United States in 1998, but did not make it to Seattle until many visits later in 2009. I knew then that it was the place I wanted to live when I finally relocated to the United States in 2011.

Seattle Kerry Park Mt. Ranier

So why was it always on my mind? Well funnily enough it firstly had something to do with someone who sang a song with those very lyrics. Yes the King, Elvis Presley! Not sure exactly how I got into Elvis back then but I will never forget the  day he sadly died and seeing all the reports on TV when I was just a kid in 1977. I have even made the pilgrimage to Graceland in Memphis back in 1998!

Anyway in 1962 Elvis starred in the movie “It Happened At The Worlds Fair” (the Worlds Fair was in Seattle that year and it is the 50th anniversary on April 21st, 2012) and I saw that movie at some stage as a kid and was always fascinated by it and the Space Needle in particular. This is an obsession that continues today as I seem to always be taking photos of the needle!

Elvis Presley Worlds Fair 1962

Then as I grew older other things started to rekindle my interest in Seattle in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s. Grunge music Soundgarden and  Nirvana in particular were high on my playlist and Seattle was always being mentioned on the TV and radio in Australia.

Soundgarden

Nirvana

Then a little TV show became one of my favourites and I still watch it even today on late night TV. Frasier (1993 to 2004) with Kelsey Grammer. Yes it was not actually filmed in Seattle (except for at least one classic 1997 episode “The 1,000th Show” when Frasier and Niles Crane were running about on and below the monorail trying to get to a celebration for Frasier’s 1000th radio show at the Space Needle) but it was all about the place. The view out of Frasier’s apartment window is the view from Kerry Park and there is no way his apartment building could exist, but who knew that back then? It is funny watching the show today as the references to all the places and people they mention also meant nothing back then but today I know exactly who and what they were talking about!

Frasier Seattle Pike Place

Frasier Monorail Seattle

Then of course there is my obsession with aviation. Seattle is the home of Boeing. It is also where some of my other favourite musicians such as Jimi Hendrix and Queensryche originated from.

Then there is the scenery  (Seattle is not called the “Emerald City” for nothing – the city is surrounded by beautiful forests, mountains, lakes and waterways) and the wildlife that abounds near by from Eagles to Whales is pretty impressive too. Sure the weather in Seattle is not always great but it is nowhere near as bad as people would make you believe (it is stunning in summer and autumn). I love Seattle!

Cherry Blossom University of Washington Seattle

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Say Gudday says:

    I left Australia to go live in the UK for a few years, then moved to Vancouver and then Seattle. Loved it. Recently took my wife there (shes a yank but had never been) and she also loved it.

    1. Deano says:

      Cool, where are you based now?

      1. Say Gudday says:

        I live on a boat in San Diego bay, heading down to Mexico!

  2. Dave Hart says:

    Great piece, Dean – your appreciate for Seattle definitely comes through!

    1. Deano says:

      Thanks Dave, sometimes it’s the “forgotten” US city…shouldn’t be 🙂

  3. The two girls on the left hand side of the poster were in the film for about 30 seconds. Not especially interesting I suppose but there it is.

    1. Deano says:

      Hi Howard, their 30 seconds of fame lives on forever in the poster, but probably is totally missed in the movie! Thanks for taking a look at my blog

Leave a comment