North to Alaska! State Number 50 for me!


Like those adventure seekers in years gone by, in August 2014 I departed Seattle, Washington for Alaska in search of its natural charms. Unlike many before more me, I was seeking the natural wonders above ground, not the gold that lays beneath!

Sunset Seatac
Awaiting departure at Seatac

I have always wanted to go to Alaska and in this case it was also US state number 50 for me. I seemed to have left the best for last – amazing scenery and wildlife abound (you just have to forget about the cost of getting to see these things. Just enjoy it as you soon realise it was all worth it)!

Anchorage - Alaska became the 49th state in the Union in 1959
Anchorage – Alaska became the 49th state in the Union in 1959

The weather was up and down (a lot of rain) but I saw some amazing sights from Anchorage to the Kenai Peninsula (mountains, glaciers, fjords, whales and much more), Denali National Park (wildlife and incredible scenery), Fairbanks and beyond. Alas I saw no Northern Lights (visible the night after I left!) but I did travel further north to cross the Arctic Circle and all in all had a great time in Alaska.

Moose Kenai Peninsula and Seward Alaska
Kenai Peninsula and Seward
Kenai Fjords NP Alaska
Kenai Fjords National Park
Denali National Park Elaska Moose Grizzly Bear Polychrome Pass
Denali National Park

I will post much more on these adventures but I just wanted to let everyone know that yes, I finally made it to all 50 states (from 1998 to the start of 2013 I had been to 27 states, then in the past year I really accelerated that program)!

Anchorage and Fairbanks Alaska
Around Anchorage and Fairbanks

What’s next? Canada has 10 provinces and 3 territories. I have already been to 5 of them, so I am nearly half way. Hmmm something to ponder…

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Julie McKillop says:

    Well done Dean. I`ve enjoyed following you around. Looking forward to Canada.

  2. Girl Gone Expat says:

    If you haven’t been to Alberta yet I can recommend it as your next stop! 🙂

    1. Deano says:

      I had the privilege in 2006 to spend a couple of weeks travelling around Alberta. Stunning variances from Drumheller to the Rockies!

Leave a Reply

