Then there was 1 – Yes I have made it to 49 US States!


Hi All. So my unplanned on a whim decision this year to try to get to all 50 US states is almost complete. State number 49 was South Carolina where I recently spent a great week in and around historic Charleston.

Rainbow Row - Charleston houses
Rainbow Row – Charleston
William Elliott House circa 1730's - Charleston
William Elliott House circa 1730’s – one of the oldest houses in Charleston
Homes along S. Battery in Charleston South Carolina
Homes along S. Battery in Charleston

For now I have just fallen short of making it to all 50 states in 2013, but with winter upon us and only Alaska left I was not really prepared to brave that kind of cold (its well below zero up there now). So sometime in 2014 I will head north to Alaska!

Caribou silhouetted by Alaska's northern lights
Caribou silhouetted by Alaska’s northern lights (photo source: Alaska Stock Photos)

I continue to be way behind in my travel writing so you will see an eclectic mix of experiences from this past summer and Autumn (still can’t say Fall!). There will be tales of my journey around the east coast, the Midwest, Hawaii and more. I am especially looking forward to showing you my urban exploring in the much maligned city of Detroit, Michigan.

Michigan Central Station in Detroit - abandoned since 1988
Michigan Central Station in Detroit – abandoned since 1988

2013 has been an amazing year for me and I expect 2014 to be the same. I wish everyone a Happy New Year, especially all my family and friends around the world!

New Years 2012 in Seattle
Happy New Year! (I took this in Seattle in 2012)
7 Comments Add yours

  1. gpcox says:

    Congrats!! Not very many people can boast that claim and we’ll be saying Congrats again this new year when we see the photos from Alaska. What a fantastic accomplishment!

  2. Sheridan says:

    Great! Can’t wait to read more. Love rainbow row houses.

  3. NICE!! I am very happy for you, with only Alaska left! I am curious and look forward to your thoughts about Detroit… I feel so bad for that city, with all of it’s rich history. Happy New Year to you and thank you for sharing your journey’s with the world; I very much have enjoyed it! \m/\m/

    1. Deano says:

      Thanks. Likewise to you. Keep the metal flame alive in 2014 \m/

      You will be surprised with Detroit. Hope to write something about it soon!

Leave a Reply

