When in Maine eat as the Mainers do


OK so I am not the biggest seafood fan. I will eat it but would prefer a good juicy steak anytime over seafood. When I recently found myself on the coast of Maine, visiting Acadia National Park I thought I better try a Maine lobster. I think I had only ever eaten lobster once before and that was just some lobster pieces in a Chinese meal. Where was I ever going to get a better one than right here in Maine? Plus near where I was staying in Bar Harbor, a lobster dinner with some sides was only $15 (very cheap)!

Maine Lobster with butter sauce Bar Harbor
Maine Lobster with butter sauce

So with some trepidation I placed my order and awaited the meal. The waitress was brimming with happiness as she delivered the red crustacean before me. With some embarrassment I asked for directions on how to eat the damn thing. Luckily that was a quick tutorial and before you knew it I was cracking the shell and enjoying the tender and juicy lobster meat. Dipping it in the butter sauce was nice treat, although at first I thought it was hot water with lemon juice to rinse your fingers after breaking open the shell! Ha!

Maine Lobster
OK lobster let’s get down to the nitty-gritty

I had heard that wearing the big bib was a touristy thing to do and not what locals used, so I avoided that all together. I didn’t want to look like a complete fool! This was almost a near tragedy though. When I broke the tail of the lobster from its body a lot of goop came flying out……oh well laundry time was coming up anyway!

Verdict? Maine lobster is very good but I still prefer a juicy steak!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. gpcox says:

    My favorite food – I’ve been there and savored more that one !!

    1. Deano says:

      You get a taste for them!

Leave a Reply

