Mastodon the shaggy beasts of sludge metal \m/(>.<)\m/


November 6th, 2011

The Hunter Tour

I attended an unusually scheduled Sunday night concert to see the shaggy beasts of sludge metal, Mastodon perform at the Showbox Sodo in Seattle. The band who hail from Atlanta, Georgia are touring their latest album The Hunter and play a progressive style of heavy metal (not for everyone, but I like it).

Mastodon

Mastodon albums always have great cover artwork, fantastic guitar riffs, lyrics  (most vocals are shared between Troy Sanders – bass and Brent Hinds – Guitars) and imaginative song titles i.e. “Curl of the Burl” from the latest album, “Divinations” from Crack the Skye, “Colony of Birchmen” from Blood Mountain etc. I have seen them a couple of times before in Australia and they always put on a great show but the crowd here in the US were a bit different from home and went totally mental as soon as Mastodon started playing!

The two opening acts for Mastodon were Red Fang an excellent heavy metal band from Portland, Oregon who I really enjoyed listening to (great songs and guitar riffs, a very enthusiastic metal band) and Dillinger Escape Plan a mathcore band from New Jersey who I really didn’t get into at all, but hey each to their own (not my type of music – aggressive with mostly screaming style lyrics with no notable guitar riffs that I could get into and a seemingly irregular start stop style of playing, but they do have a wicked bass player!). I always like to see the opening acts, especially when you know nothing about them, you never know when you will discover a new band that you really like. I have to say that Red Fang have become one of those for me now.

Red Fang

I spent the entire time for the opening acts in the mosh pit, it was starting to get crowded and rowdy especially after Dillinger which the young guys in the crowd seemed to really like – plus the lead singer was crowd surfing, but when Mastodon came on, the crowd literally exploded! Unleash the dogs of war!!!

Dillinger Escape Plan

I could only describe the mayhem as slam dancing to the extreme! While this was fun for a while, I decided to eventually bail to an area just out of the mosh as I couldn’t really enjoy the show whilst being constantly shoved and shoving others (plus people were becoming sweaty messes in there, nothing worse than some huge fat sweaty guy slam dancing into you)! Although getting to a calmer spot wasn’t as easy as I thought due to the place being so packed, I had to start pushing again just to struggle though the crowd!

Mastodon - Troy Sanders
Mastodon - Brent Hinds

The set list for the night was:

Dry Bone Valley
Black Tounge
Crystal Skull
I Am Ahab
Capillarian Crest
Colony of Birchmen
Megalodon
Blasteroid
Sleeping Giant
Ghost of Karelia
All The Heavy Lifting
Curl of the Burl
Bedazzled Fingernails
Spectrelight
Circle of Cysquatch
Aqua Dementia
Crack the Skye
Where Strides the Behometh
Iron Tusk
March of the Fire Ants
Blood and Thunder

Mastodon shredding it!

A great night and a powerful performance by Mastodon who didn’t miss a beat and played and sang like demons! I always like it when the band pays recognition to the crowd and thank them, Mastodon did this a number of times which was great. The big crowd didn’t stop moshing throughout the show and I don’t think anyone went home unhappy (unless they got smothered by some big fat sweaty guy that is, or if they were the person the bloody paper towel belonged to in the mens toilets!). I came out of it uninjured, without too much damage to my ears and got a cool tour t-shirt too. So all in all a great night!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sheri gunanto says:

    Denali, Gumbys friend, was a mastodon

    1. Deano says:

      Funny you should mention Gumby as he will briefly appear in my next post!

Leave a Reply

